The Journey Begins

I thought school was the long journey, but graduation and life afterwards is the true beginning of the adventure.

I’ve been in school since I was four years old. It wasn’t expected of me to go to college. It wasn’t my plan to get a degree (or three). I didn’t have ambition to get the best grades and I certainly wasn’t the top student in my class.

I went through the motions not really knowing what I wanted to do, until I learned that I loved science and the human body. Nothing fascinates me more than human healing and the resilience the body has in overcoming physical obstacles. The human body is a force to be reckoned with. The human body overcomes adversity and can be pushed to its limit and still come out victorious at the end. This is what school was like for me.

I was a C student. I was told I wouldn’t make it far because my grades weren’t the best. I was told that I should just do something easy with my time and not make it harder for myself. The problem with all those people is they didn’t see the fire they were stoking in my eyes. They didn’t see that I was what I described the human body to be, a force to be reckoned with. They didn’t see the beautiful adventure that was about to unfold.

I’ve had people at my side who believed in me. I’ve had neigh-sayers from the beginning telling me I wouldn’t make it. But most of all, I’ve had a faith in God that has made my life the greatest adventure I could have ever asked for.

The road has been long and its is yet to be finished. Join me in my journey. Join me in the ups and downs, the set backs, the struggles. This has already been an adventure and I’m sure that the next adventure is going to be that much more exciting.

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

 

Leave a comment